#### Iowa State University Agricultural Business Club Main Meeting Minutes November 11, 2015

The regular meeting of the Iowa State University Agricultural Business Club was held November 11, 2015 in 1001 Troxel. President Adelai Swanson called the meeting to order at 5:31 pm. There were 126 members present.

#### Officer Reports:

- $\circ$   $\;$  Secretary: Minutes of the October meeting were briefed by Joni Erwin. Approved by Club members.
- Treasurer: Andrew Luzum announced the current balance available \$47,512.87.
- o CALS Council: Thank you for a great year, we are looking forward to electing a new representative
- Reporters: We appreciate all of your participating in Guess the Member throughout the year. Thanks again!
- Historian: Thank you for allowing us to serve you every meeting; It's been a great year.

# Meet the Prof: Dr. Dermot Hayes from the Department of Economics

Dr. Dermot Hayes has been at lowa State University since 1986. He has taught Econ 101 to freshmen Agricultural Business students for 20 years. He explained to the club about his hometown and where he grew up in Ireland. He also told us many stories, which lead to advice as we graduate college. His main points included: spending time with family is important, marry your best friend, you can never travel too much, refuse to deal with negative people, and work with people that have a different skill set as you.

## **Committee Reports:**

- Banquet: We appreciate everyone that came out to the homecoming breakfast. We had a great turnout for the event with 38 alumni in attendance.
- $\circ$   $\,$  Career Day: The committee is still waiting on the results to come in from the career day event.

# **Officer Elections:**

Congratulations to our newly elected officers! We look forward to seeing your accomplishments in the coming year!

- o President: Joni Erwin
- Vice President: Marc Throndson
- Secretary: Catherine Hayes
- o Treasurer: Nathan Hrubes
- o Junior Ag Counicl Rep: Lauren Sendelbach
- o Reporters: Brandon Klaes and Hanna Mendenhall
- Historians: Craig Welter and Allison Bastian

## New Business:

- o Member of the month: Katelin Schroder
- New/Old Member: Peyton Larsen / Clint McConnell and Aaron Wagner

# Advisor Comments:

Dr. Artz: Thank you to all of the members that took the chance of running tonight, it shows great confidence to speak in front of a group like this. Additionally, thank you to our outgoing officer team. Together you accomplished your goals and established numerous things that will benefit the club for years to come. Finally, congratulations to all the newly elected officers this evening. The advisors look forward to working with you in the future! **Drawings** 

- o Guess the Member: Winner: Geordan Hanson / Kayleigh Koch
- Wheel of Fortune: Megan Modlestad (\$50)

# Announcements:

- Next meeting:
  - Thursday, December 3, 5:30pm social, 6:00pm start Design 101
- Committee Applications are due: December 8, 2015

## Passing of the Gavel

President, Joni Erwin, adjourned the meeting at 7:35 pm.